Club Racing Drivers Clinch National Point Championships

Twenty-nine drivers wrapped up National Point Championships following Labor Day’s final SafeRacer National Racing Series events, concluding the 66-race season that began the first weekend of 2010.

More than 1900 drivers scored points on 29 classes throughout the season. Points were awarded on the following basis. Drivers finishing in the top nine at any given race earned points per their Divisional Championships (12-9-7-6-5-4-3-2-1) plus one bonus point for each car they finish ahead of, with a per-race maximum of 10 bonus markers.

Unlike the 2009 National Point Championship, points scored at the Runoffs do not count in 2010, meaning the Championships have concluded prior to the National Championship event, Sept. 20-26, at Road America.

In addition to earning the season-long point Championship, 17 drivers are eligible for the SCCA Club Racing Super Sweep, should they also win the National Championship Runoffs presented by Subway. These drivers captured the National point title, their respective Divisional Championship and won at least one of nine qualifying SafeRacer National Racing Series events.

The Super Sweep is the most prestigious and difficult honor for a driver to achieve—rewarding local and national success as well as key event and National Championship Runoffs success.

The 2010 SCCA National Point Champions are:
Class: Driver, Car, Points (* denotes Super Sweep Eligible)
American Sedan: Tom Ellis, Ford Mustang, 106
C Sports Racing: Jacek Mucha, Swift JMS, 108*
D Sports Racing: Chris Farrell, Stohr, 113*
E Production: Greg Ira, Datsun 240Z, 128*
Formula 500: Aaron Ellis, Ellis, 108
Formula Atlantic: Keith Grant, Swift, 125*
Formula 1000: Brandon Dixon, Citation, 103
Formula Continental: Revere Greist, Van Diemen, 116
Formula Enterprises: Scott Rettich, FE, 119*
Formula F: Jeremy Treadway, Swift, 148*
Formula Mazda: Darryl Wills, Star Mazda, 149*
F Production: Kevin Ruck, Acura Integra, 117*
Formula Vee: Brian McCarthy, Andruil, 119
GT-1: Michael Lewis, Jaguar XKR, 112*
GT-2: Mark Boden, Porsche 996 Cup, 124*
GT-3: Mike Cyphert: Toyota, 74*
GT-L: Bobby Lentz, Nissan, 119*
H Production: Michael Moser, Honda CRX, 87*
Sports 2000: Marvin Hodges, Lola, 92*
Spec Miata: Chip Van Vurst, Mazda Miata, 141
Spec Racer Ford: Scott Rettich, SRF, 145*
Showroom Stock B: Michael Scornavacchi, BMW Z4, 99
Showroom Stock C: Joel Lipperini, Acura Integra, 108*
ST: Kevin Clayton, Ferrari, 48
Super Touring O: Jerry Onks, Chevrolet Corvette, 96
Super Touring U: Phil Parlato, BMW 325, 95
Touring 1: David Koller, Chevrolet Corvette, 84*
Touring 2: Cooper MacNeil, BMW M3, 126
Touring 3: John Costello, Honda S2000, 102

For winning the National Points Championship, each driver will receive a $500 gift certificate to

A full list of National and Divisional Points is available at

Original Story Link

Share this post